Jenny Munday Atlantic Canadian Play Award

Jenny Munday served PARC for 20 years (2007-2017), first as a part time administrator and then as our inaugural Artistic Director. Jenny passed in 2021 after a battle with cancer. At her Celebration of Life on September 25, 2021, PARC announced the creation of an annual award to be given in her honour: The Jenny Munday Atlantic Canadian Play Award. The creation of this lasting legacy is an important step, both in honouring Jenny’s memory and tremendous contribution to this organization, and also in offering support and recognition to the playwrights of Atlantic Canada.

PARC appreciates donations to honour Jenny Munday’s legacy through this award, which can be submitted through our PayPal account. Please send your mailing address to [email protected] so that we can send out your taxable receipt.

Award Submission Guidelines:

  • Submissions are open to: 

    • previously produced playwrights only;

    • Atlantic Canadian plays;

    • active PARC & non-PARC members

      • the winning entry gets a membership (if applicable).

  • Submitted scripts must: 

    • be unproduced or have one production only in the 2 years previous to the deadline;

    • be original work;

    • be numbered,

    • be formatted in any legible font (Times New Roman, Arial, Courier, etc.), size 12, with 1.5 spacing:

    • have the playwright’s name and contact info on the cover page.

  • No minimum or maximum length;

  • One submission per playwright;

  • Submission fee is $30.

Assessment Criteria:

The Jenny Munday Atlantic Canadian Play Award recognizes and celebrates artistry in writing for the stage. Assessment of submissions by the peer jury includes evaluation of the following:

  • the merit of the writing;

  • the social and/or cultural merit of the work;

  • the originality of content, approach, or technique;

  • the suitability for stage production.


  • Produced play:

    • A theatre production where artists involved received remuneration for their work.

      • Fringe productions or equivalent are considered theatrical productions, as long as it is demonstrated that artists got compensated for their work.

  • Atlantic Canadian play:

    • A script written by a playwright who was born or has lived for a substantial portion of their life in Atlantic Canada (Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia or Prince Edward Island) or is currently a resident of Atlantic Canada.

  • Resident of Atlantic Canada:

    • A Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant who has lived in the region for at least two years before the deadline.

The inaugural prize will be $1,500.00 with two prizes of $500.00 for the runners-up.

Submissions for the Jenny Munday Atlantic Canadian Play Award are now being accepted, starting from January 30, 2023. The submission deadline is March 31, 2024. Atlantic Canadian playwrights are invited to submit their original work for consideration.

The winning scripts will be announced on July 23, 2024, marking a momentous occasion in celebrating the exceptional talent within Atlantic Canada’s playwright community.

Interested playwrights can submit their scripts through the online form available on this LINK.

If you have questions or access needs, please reach out to PARC’s Interim Artistic Director, Santiago Guzmán, at [email protected].

Thanks to Our Donors!

Margot Brown, Judith Begley, Marilyn Best, Gay Hauser, Don Hannah, Alex Fancy,
Florence MacDonald, Kim McCaw, Deborah Allen, Daniel MacIvor, Xavier Gould, Marshall Button, Hope MacIntyre, Robert White, Sarah Stanley, Natasha MacLellan, Tessa Mendel,
Amy House, Janet Fothingham, Melissa Mullen, Joan MacLeod, Bruce Klinger and Kimberly Bungay, Mary Vingoe, Anne Chislett, Andy McKim, Maureen White, Leigh Ann Vardy,
Leonard Falkenstein, Colleen Murphy, Rory Runnells, Mark Blagrave, Cindy O’Neill,
Catherine Banks, Wendy Lill, Kathryn McCormack, Marguerite Dionne, Lisa Ross,
Wanda Graham, Carlaw Crew, Karen Chung, Wesley Colford.

Thanks to Our Sponsor!